At the Rott’s (Rott’s House, At the Three White Roses) - Small Square 3/142, Old Town
Small Square 3/142, Old Town
Neo-Renaissance commercial building built in 1890 based on a plan by E. Rechziegel for ironmonger’s shop of V. J. Rott. The façade is adorned with rich ornamental decorations and allegorical paintings of crafts and economic activities, which were made by A. Hofbauer and L. Novák based on cartoons by M. Aleš. Inside the lunette there are paintings of utensils and on the gable there is the house sign (three white roses). In 1922-23 the interior of the house was refurbished; the commercial arcades were created, covered by one of the first glass-concrete domes in Prague. At present time there is a shop inside the house, selling glass and china, part of the building serves as a hotel. – Unique two-storey Romanesque cellars of the original house At the Three Roses were preserved, built in the second half of the 12th century; in the first basement there is a two-naved Romanesque hall vaulted on two pillars, in the second basement there are Romanesque freestone walls with a semicular vault.